Sweden: Malmö wins Cup 33 years later on penalties

Malmö won the Swedish Cup for the 15th time today, beating Hammarby 4-3 in the final on penalties, after 0-0 in the 120th minute in Stockholm.

In the ‘lottery’, the winners even missed the first, by Peruvian Sergio Peña, but then scored the remaining four, while Hammarby also missed the first, by Nahir Besara, and the fifth and last, by Kosovar Astrit Selmani.

Malmö, which hadn’t won the competition since 1989, reinforced the leadership of the ‘ranking’, in which it is followed by Gothenburg and AIK Solna, both with eight trophies.

Leave a comment